All about Air Force Specialty Codes (AFSC)

If you haven’t figured it out yet, you will. You will be exposed to Air Force Specialty Codes (AFSCs) from the day you and your recruiter decide on a career field, throughout your entire enlistment, and even after you separate! When you see another Airman, one of the first questions one of you will eventually ask is, “What AFSC were you?”

Outside of the career field culture, the AFSC that you are assigned to has a lot to do with assignments, training opportunities, bonuses, retention, reenlistment eligibility, and SOOOO much more. Don’t worry too much about all of that right now though. Just get comfortable with seeing them and arm yourself with some basics.

AFSC Breakdown



Career Grouping and Career Field

A – Air Crew

B – Cyberspace

C – Command and Control Systems Operations

N – Intelligence

P – Aircrew Flight Equipment

S – Safety

T – Aircrew Protection

U – Remotely Piloted Aircraft (RPA)

W – Weather

A – Aerospace Maintenance

F – Fuels

G – Logistics Plans

M – Missile Maintenance

P – Precision Measurement

R – Maintenance Management

S – Materials Management

T – Transport, Vehicle Management and Vehicle Maintenance

W – Munitions and Weapons

A – Administration

D – Cyberspace Support

E – Civil Engineering

H – Historian

M – Services

N – Public Affairs

P – Security Forces

S – Mission Support

Medical – A, B, C, D, E, H, J, M, N, P, R, T, and V

Dental – Y

J – Paralegal

R – Chaplain Assistant

C – Contracting

F – Financial

  • 7 – Special Investigations

S – Office of Special Investigations (OSI)


There are many subdivisions relating to all of the AFSCs. If you are looking for a complete list of AFSCs then be sure to sign up to the Forever Wingman email list (right sidebar) and I’ll give you a free download with them on it. Also on the download are the ASVAB and Community College of the Air Force degree associated with each AFSC, as well as much more. I have no doubt you’ll love it.

Skill Level

  • 1 – Helper

You’ll have skill level while you are in Tech School

  • 3 – Apprentice

This skill level comes upon graduating Tech School

  • 5 – Journeyman

This comes after finishing your initial CDCs and other upgrade training requirements

  • 7 – Craftsman

Obtained upon completing more upgrade training requirement

  • 9 – Superintendent

You guessed it…more upgrade training

  • 0 – Chief Enlisted Manager

Only one of these per AFSC and maybe one day it’ll be you

Specific AFSC

Again, there are so many associated with AFSCs, so be sure to sign up for the email list on the right sidebar to get your copy of all the AFSCs.

Honor Guard

Common Acronyms Associated with AFSCs

Initially you’ll only have one AFSC, but sometime in your career you may have the opportunity to obtain more. This could be through retraining (mandatory or voluntarily), special duty assignments, or in dual role assignments. In any case, you’ll inevitably run into these important acronyms.

  • Primary Air Force Specialty Code (PAFSC) – the AFSC that you have the highest skill level and are most qualified in.
  • Duty Air Force Specialty Code (DAFSC) – Every position in the Air Force has an allocated spot on a unit manning document (UMD). This is the AFSC of the slot that you are assigned to.
  • Control Air force Specialty Code (CAFSC) – This AFSC is used for promotions, assignments, training opportunities, etc.


Well, that’s it! Not too painful I hope. Still got questions? Shoot me an email or connect with me on Twitter (@ForeverWingman). If I don’t know it, then I’ll try to get you on the right trajectory! Remember, the only stupid question is one that isn’t asked…


AFSC, Career, job

You may also like

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}